Five years ago I became a Karateka

Five years today I walked into the Dojo,

Five years ago today I was confronted with fear,

Five years ago today I entered the world of Karate,

Five years where I found a club that I felt like I belonged,

I always wanted to do a martial art but never Karate,

Thought it was just for kids that it was weak and flashy,

Then I saw the advert of Combat Karate and thought I’d give it a bash,

How wrong was I!,

I discovered kata and I discovered bunkai,

I discovered how very real it could be and I was simply humbled,

I’ve made many wrong decisions and very few right ones in life,

Becoming a karateka has been one of the best choices in my life,

Five years ago today I wasn’t just a misfit but became a karateka,

And perhaps still a misfit,

After five years I want to say thank you to all that I have trained with,

Graded with,

Been taught under,

Thank you,

OUS

Leave a Reply

