videoing kata

Videos are a great modern tool that allows us to improve our techniques, not just from watching teachers and highly skilled martial artists but also from videoing yourself and seeing the flaws of your techniques, in this case kata.

Last week I decided to film my kata (and in case any of you ask, I am not putting it online!) and I was surprised to see some of the outcomes of the sequence. Even though I have practiced in front of a mirror, being able to watch the kata away from doing it live is a real eye opener. For instance I could see that my Geksai’s and Saifa have improved a lot in the last 6 months, but that the techniques such as mawashi tora guchi and neko ashi dachi were really poor.

Ironically I always thought that these two aspects of my kata’s was my strongest part, and it was a real eye opener to see how much work they need to have, it might have been through complacency  but through video I now know what I really need to work on.

I think as modern day martial artists, or martial art enthusiasts we should use these tools to help us to keep improving and evolving ourselves, to become the martial artist/person that we want to be.

One Response to videoing kata

  1. djsolly1 says:

    After re-watching the footage, I need to be aware of my thumbs being exposed, and my chambered hand being slightly bent

Leave a Reply

