Goju Ryu the chinese side of the force

If you just look at the surface of Goju Ryu, it looks just like a typical hard karate style, with Jitsu skills. Or a Jitsu system with karate skills thrown into it, and to be fair that is what interested me in the first place as I started in Jitsu and couldn’t believe there was a system that combined the two. At the time I wanted to study Wing Chun, I loved the fact that it was close quarters, had a sticky hands and looked brutal. This explains the other reasons why I fell in love with Goju Ryu  the fact that it is close quarters and can seem both beautiful and brutal at the same time.

Anyway as you will know I went to china to study white crane for a few months, and took some wing chun classes on my return, and even though that it was quite a long time ago I keep seeing more and more similarities between Goju Ryu and Wing Chun and therefore white crane. Just the way that we do San dan gi ichi and ni, can do kakie and Hatkutsuru-te makes me see this connection. But the other day when I was learning some more bunkai (self defence applications and the meaning behind the kata’s) for Shisochin kata, had my draw drop, it is something that I have seen in both the Chinese systems, and it’s subtlety and simpleness wasn’t something I expected in Goju Ryu.

It is stuff within the system that helps make it seem so much more than karate, and I think these Chinese roots makes the system a lot more evolved than a lot of other karate systems. It is a reason why  I love the Okinawan martial arts, the blending of arts and the masters not afraid to try different things makes the Okinawan martial arts that much richer.

Leave a Reply

