Blackbelt/Brownbelt course

I really enjoyed going to the black/brown belt course. It was very insightful, and I really loved to see how the subtlety between how the lower kyu grades do kata, and how we should do kata pretty much transforms the kata in my eyes. Just the way that the stances are alive, how each little movement has a meaning, and how when I thought that the salute of each kata, was just a salute and how it is actually the start of the kata has to me transformed the way I do kata from beginning to the end.

I think that it changes my mindset, in that when I normally do kata I do it from muscle memory and how I think each kata’s character feels like. Now I feel the nature of the kata from the beginning to the end. It makes me realise that although I know a lot about the kata’s that I know, and that I need to know a lot more, the course pretty much humbled me into realising how much I don’t truly know, and that I need to work even harder to develop them. I need to change the way I do kata from a kyu level, into the level that I need to be at.

I love kata, the meaning behind them, that they are alive, a blue print for strategies and muscle memory. One of my main problems when I studied Jitsu prior to Goju Ryu was that when I asked if there was a way to train techniques at home, that for me I really need to practice them by myself to get better at them. The sensei said you only learn in the classroom. To me that made my learning experience much harder, as I am one of those people who have to keep practicing something a lot of times in order for it to be trained into me. The moment I found out that you can do this with karate, with kata made me very excited.

One Response to Blackbelt/Brownbelt course

  1. I’m exactly the same. It takes me ages to learn new forms and for me it isn’t until I have committed the form to muscle memory that I can really do the form as it was intended. I have to get to the point of I’m not thinking about what to do so I can just focus on “delivering” the form.

Leave a Reply

