New focus

The one thing about having an injury, whilst you were trying to prepare for a big grading in the summer, is that it puts your training focus into perspective. Being unable to train in the way I want to, I have had to focus training on some of my weakness, such us cardio and flexibility, faster strikes (shadow boxing) and focus more on technique and the Ju side of the force.

And even though I love training, I am like a big paradox all rapped up in one, on the one hand I love to train hard and be fit, on the other hand I am very lazy and love my food and pear cider. So I decided to use a fitness app to keep more control of my diet, whilst I wasn’t able to train as much as I wanted to. I’m not someone who wants to go on a strict diet, I love food, but I do need more control, especially as I really enjoyed the Christmas week and want to achieve my goals  set for this year (note I said goals for the year, not new year goals) and there are some new ones I want to try this year as well.

Anyway, as someone who has never been lean, but fairly active, I won’t bore you with the details of what I have discovered with my diet, but it has allowed me to both start controlling portions, and when I have gone over the limit to train more for my main goals. I’m only aiming to get to the fighting weight I was at my last grading, but with these mini daily goals (because I eat alot) and I need something to train for, it has given me mini challenges to achieve everyday (I’m very competitive with myself), which overtime will get me ready for the big grading.

Leave a Reply

