Do ideas have a life or plan of their own?

I find it interesting when you have one idea and you are trying to develop, but just because you have this idea you want to use in one way doesn’t mean it will end up there. I have been working on the concepts and history behind my Venus fantasy world since I was at university. However a lot of the ideas have grown to such an extent that they become their own stories.

When I decided to start creating other fantasy worlds I have noticed key themes that seem to tie them all together. I suppose this makes me wonder whether my ideas have grown and developed in a such a way that I couldn’t of predicted. Or whether some of my earlier story ideas are just practice ones, helping me to develop and create a better world and therefore a better story.

Leave a Reply

